Sunday, January 24, 2010

West Wight Road Runners – Cross-Country Championships

West Wight Road Runners’ annual cross-country championship took place in ideal conditions on a course around and over Afton Down.

Andrew McEwan was never headed and came home first in a time of 38.43, 20 seconds faster than last year. Close behind was Gareth Knight in 39.02, 7 seconds closer to Andrew than last year. Third home was Mike Green in 42.26, followed by Paul Judge (43.25) and Eric Critchison (44.40).

Anne Ballingall was first lady with a time of 52.47, followed by Cherry Owens (57.08). A nominated race is held in conjunction with the event, and there was stiff competition with 3 runners within 34 seconds or less of their predicted time. Paul Judge was the winner with a discrepancy of only 5 seconds.

No comments: